Auckland member John Dunmore has compiled a history of the Playwrights’ Association of New Zealand, which was formed in 1957 and became an incorporated society in 1958. Bruce Mason was a founding member.

Other past members include Gordon Dryland, Craig Harrison, Dame Fiona Kidman, Rosalie Carey, and Joe Musaphia.

Life members are Jean Dinnie, John Dunmore, and June Allen.

Playwrights in New Zealand, A Short History of the Playwrights Association is available through your local library.